Well, I see by the clock on the wall…

[Update: I’m overwhelmed by your kind words and best wishes. Thanks again. In response to one frequently-asked-question, Mark will continue posting at Canada’s premier milblog, The Torch. – DP]
When I started up my old Blogspot site in late 2001 – one of many, many sites which proliferated in the wake of the 9/11 attacks – I had no idea I’d keep at it as long as I did. And I’ve enjoyed every minute of it.
With a child on the way, however – not to mention an ever-increasing workload at my firm – I think it’s time to make a graceful exit. Or a hiatus, at least. This is something I’ve been mulling over for a while, as I’ve found it increasingly difficult to keep blogging at my usual pace, but I’ve never been able to pull the trigger. My dithering over the issue made Brett Favre look like the model of decisiveness. But today’s as good a day as any.
I plan to keep this site and the archives up, and if I contribute elsewhere (Blogcritics.org, for example) I’ll probably link to it here. And my Twitter page should be active for a long, long time.
Thanks so much to all of you, especially the people who’ve guest-posted to this site over the years, and the bloggers and readers I had the pleasure of meeting on trips to Toronto and New York.
A few people deserve special mention: Mark Collins, whose contributions to this site over the past few years have put my own writing to shame; my friend Michael in Edmonton, who’s helped me with all the technical stuff; and Glenn Reynolds of InstaPundit, who inspired me to start blogging in the first place.
As far back as I can remember, long before any of us had even heard of the internet, I wanted to be a newspaper columnist. The opinion pages in the newspaper were the first ones to which I turned. I may never get my own column, but this site let me get it all out of my system for the past 7 1/2 years, and I wouldn’t have had it any other way.
[Note: watch for a major, major news story to occur tomorrow, one day after I’ve put the blog on hold.]
Damian P.

78 thoughts on “Well, I see by the clock on the wall…

  1. You’ll be missed, buddy.
    I’d be happy if you only posted once a month or something . . you point of view is refreshing.
    Good luck with the new baby . . . catch up on your sleep now while you can 🙂

  2. Yours was one of the first blogs I started reading, and you were the one who got me started in blogging. Admittedly, I’ve been shamefully bad about updates lately, too. But I still read your blog regularly, and you will very definitely be missed. There aren’t a lot of voices of reason that can be heard over the din of madness out there.
    Thanks for all your contributions to the blogosphere over the past 7-1/2 (wow, that long? I feel old!) years. And if you ever change your mind and start blogging again, well, let’s just say that there won’t be too many complaints about that either.

  3. Thanks for the years you’ve put into this blog. You’ve been a rational voice in a conservative blogosphere that desperately needed it.

  4. Thanks for all the fish, Damian…you’ve been on my must-read list for most of that 7-and-a-half. Hope we won’t lose your point of view for good.
    And I hope (no, promise) fatherhood will be a joy.

  5. A very graceful exit.
    Thanks for all the great postings over the years and very best in the future!
    Nonetheless, shall check back from time to time.

  6. Enjoy your (semi-)retirement! I’ve long considered this blog one of the best on the BT blogroll. It will be missed.

  7. Hope a major, major news story doesn’t occur tomorrow! 9/11 was enough.
    Glad you didn’t buy into the environmentalist’s latest idea of not having any kids.
    Congrats and good luck with everything.

  8. Sad to see it happen, but as the father of an 18 month old I’d be hard pressed to criticize your decision. 🙂 I’ve always enjoyed your blog, and while I’ve disagreed on many issues (being a lefty and all) I’ve always found your posts to be thoughtful and fair minded.
    Best wishes for your child-to-be…
    Ken.

  9. Oh, damn it.
    Obviously your family comes first, Damian, but this does not come as good news. You’ve been running a fine blog, fair-minded, interesting, provocative: while we don’t agree on some fundamentals, we’ve always gotten along and had good conversations.
    A civil, humane conservative blog. Not many of those around.
    Damn.
    Come back when the kids are grown, at least. All the best in the meantime, and if you’re ever in my neck of the woods, supper’s on me.

  10. Damn, my favourite blog. Maybe you should reconsider. Good fathers and hard-working lawyers are a dime a dozen but interesting bloggers are scarce.

  11. I don’t have much time to *read* blogs these days, much less keep up my own, but this is one that I come to, every day.
    Damn damn and double damn.

  12. Very best of luck, Damian, and much joy in this new stage of your family. You’re one of the very best.
    And you WILL be back.

  13. I’ve been a daily reader since probably very close to the start of this blog. I certainly wish you all the best, but I must confess your departure from the blogosphere saddens me. I’ve really come to rely on this blog to provide me with a different perspective on many issues, not to mention pointers to stories I wouldn’t otherwise hear about.

  14. Damian you have added a vital voice of reason to our Canadian and world discourse. We will miss you and hope you return.

  15. “With a child on the way…”
    I doubt you’ll find ruining just one mind as satisfying as the hundreds of minds you ruin every day on your blog. 😉

  16. Wow, has it been that long? You, Bob Tarantino, and the Meatriarchy were the ones who inspired me to start blogging, Damian. Thanks for that, and for all you’ve contributed to the online discussion over the years.
    Best of luck with the family and career as well. Make sure you still drop by from time to time!

  17. Boo!
    But yes babies are busy making and practice gets busy and then, all of a sudden you don’t have the time you need to do this blog as well as you’ve done it all these years.
    It has been a huge contribution Damian.
    Thank you.

  18. Damn.. er. Darn. I’m going to miss this place.
    Here’s hoping for the hiatus option. As someone that recently went through two additions to the family, and the increased work load, I still find time to throw up the occasional post. Raphael is another example that it is possible to juggle family, work and blogging (how he posts as often as he does is beyond my ken).
    Family first! But squeeze us in when you can!

  19. Your blog has contributed to the continued existence of Western Civilization but then, so will your babies.
    Good luck.

  20. Sad to see you go, although I wouldn’t be surprised if this hiatus is shorter than you think it might be.
    Also wanted to ask; what of Mark? It wouldn’t make sense for him to solo blog under damianpenny.com, I suppose.

  21. Sorry to hear the news. The blog was superb.
    I hope you’ll be back one day.
    In the meantime, what will Mark C. be doing?
    Posting at the Torch?

  22. A great ride. Thanks so very much to you, Damian. Family life is a ride too, but boy is it worth it.
    “The Torch”, founded by the rather wonderful “other” Damian, goes on:
    http://toyoufromfailinghands.blogspot.com/
    By the way, “They’ve Got an Awful lot of Coffee in Brazil”:
    http://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&field-keywords=Frank%20Sinatra%20The%20Coffee%20Song%20(They%27ve%20Got%20An%20Awful%20Lot%20Of%20Coffee%20In%20Brazil)&page=1&url=search-alias%3Ddigital-music
    Not to mention “Castle Rock”–really worth a listen, ahead of its time:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Castle-Rock/dp/B001JTS3P0
    A station casting off, one supposes, in a signing sense.
    Mark
    Ottawa

  23. Man, now I feel guilty that I’ve got a kid coming in the next few weeks and I’m NOT shuttin’er down.
    It’s too bad man – you’ll be missed. Until you get back, that is.
    You know you will. And we all hope so.

  24. I was enjoying your blog as well, and I appreciated your honest criticisms of the conservative government. It’s great that you’re having a child, and nothing could be more exciting. Best of luck to you!

  25. Thanks, Damian, and Mark C., for the daily dose of reality….and the soapbox you so kindly made available to the rest of us.
    Best wishes on the upcoming addition to your family!

  26. In a few days I’ll be thinking “thanks for the memories”; this is the first blog I check on any given day. Well done, good job and please come back whenever you find time.

  27. I’ve read this blog every day from mid 2003 and it has been a consistently entertaining and fulfilling experience.
    You’re a class act and I know that the rest of your life will be great.
    Thank you for allowing us all to share some small part of it.
    Thank you for all your hard work and effort over the years.

  28. You’ll definitely be missed, Damian, as I’ve enjoyed reading this site for these many years. You were my first Canadian blog. 😉
    Will keep checking back every once in a while for any updates, especially wrt the birth of your child.
    Take care and God bless!

  29. Damian, I never thought I’d see this day, and I certainly didn’t want to…
    I’ve long regarded your blog as the anchor of the Canadian conservative blogosphere, and I don’t see any other site filling the void created by your departure.
    I started visiting/commenting here in early 2002, and I can’t thank you enough for providing such an enjoyable and informative forum. Many thanks to Mark as well. You were a great addition to the blog.
    DaninVan, Bruce, Ran, John B., Dawg, Ellie, John Palubiski, Sigivald, Segacs, Angie, Peter, and so many others, I’ll miss your comments as much as I’ll miss the posts from Damian and Mark.
    Anyway Damian, it’s been a great ride. All the best to you and your family. Hope you change your mind, some day down the road…

  30. Damian – you’ve been a source of inspiration to us young conservatives, and have always set a fine example. You were always one of the few on the right who is principled, civil and as a bonus, not crazy, which is a welcome combination indeed. So I genuinely thank you for that.
    Also, would I be out of line to break with the concensus here and suggest that perhaps family doesn’t come first in this case, and that you should consider neglecting them for our benefit? I would be out of line? Duly noted, I’ll see myself out. Good luck sir.

  31. Wow! I’ve had your site bookmarked for years and I visit at least once a day. I will miss you, but I understand why you are doing this. With kids time is turned into hyper-time. Everything seems to go by three times as fast! So hold on tight and enjoy the ride!
    From way, way, way, south of the border!

  32. I, too, am going to miss your viewpoints from north of the border, as well as the comments from many of those who regularly post on this site (including Dr. Dawg, who I usually don’t agree with but still respect).

  33. Darn. Another conservative Canadian blog bites the dust. At this rate, if we lose around 1000 more, the leftists might even catch up.
    All the best Mr. Penny.

  34. I hope that you’ll reconsider. If not, know that you’ve been a friend, and I really do appreciate your kindness over the years.
    You’re good people, son.
    Also, boy or girl, you should name the child Skippy. If not the baby, then Mark Collins. Somebody needs to be Skippy, godfuckit.

  35. skippystalin: I was a boy living with my parents at the Canadian embassy in Moscow it the mid-50s. One of my best friends (all American, the Brits were wimps from the viewpoint of a North American kid) was named Skip.
    Mark
    Ottawa

  36. So long ….. fare well!
    Good luck to you …. but I bet you’ll be back sooner and more often than you think! 🙂

  37. Congratulations on the new baby Damien and all the best to you and your family. On the upside, this will free up more of your time to campaign for sharia law in NFLD.

  38. Thank you Damian.
    You will be missed here but your influence will carry on. You have been an inspiration for many in the blogging world and you have set a very high standard for those who will follow.
    All the best,
    Andrew

  39. Congratulations on your impending arrival.
    You will never regret being a dad even when it is occasionally frustrating. You need a few things to laugh at when you look back in a couple of years.
    Do let us know when the next “Penny Drops”!!
    Much success!!
    Cheers
    Hans-Christian Georg Rupprecht, Commander in Chief
    Frankenstein Battalion
    2nd Squadron: Ulanen-(Lancers) Regiment Großherzog Friedrich von
    Baden(Rheinisches) Nr.7(Saarbrucken)
    Knecht Rupprecht Division
    Hans Corps
    1st Saint Nicolaas Army
    Army Group “True North”

  40. Very best wishes to you and your family, Damian.
    Perhaps you’ll have a moment to update us from time to time.
    Cheers.

  41. In the dead of the night, when the baby is sleeping, and you are wide awake, may you sneak onto the computer and post just one blog a night.

  42. Damian, what can I say? As a fellow Newfoundlander and Blogging Tory, you were always something of an inspiration to myself and Griff, and welcome company in what was obviously a small cohort of our particular blogging community. Your blog has been a regular staple of my daily reading for the last five years or so (when I started blogging myself), and I’m not ashamed to say that I’m very sad to see you go. (First you leave the Rock, and now this! It is too much! 😀 ) You are truly a cornerstone of the Blogging Tories.
    I sympathize with your reasons – my own posting has been sparse lately due to my own responsibilities, and I’ve often debated giving up on blogging at times – but I always come back for one more post. Believe me when I say that it’s my hope you’ll do the same.
    Cheers to Daimnation! – and to you, Damian.
    – Dante

  43. Darn. Is there anyone left for me to call a Red Tory?? I am going to miss this blog and all the people associated with it. I am also gonna miss the football and car talk. But hey, good luck to you and your family.

  44. So long and thanks for all the fish.
    Seriously, though, yours has been a good blog to read, and I am sorry to see you go. Good luck in all your future endeavours.

  45. It’s always wise to put your family and career ahead of hobbies, which is what blogging is except for the most ardent and successful/popular.
    Hence the reason I don’t invest much time any more at my own minuscule blog.
    Thanks for trucking as long as you did, Damian.

  46. To one of the first who I read, and he, me.
    I’ll miss your work, and presence on the net.
    Thank you for all you’ve done, and I wish fortune to follow you in all things.
    Sincerely,
    Chris

  47. How much to make you change your mind?
    Just kidding. Good luck with everything. I’ve read your blog since near the start. You’re one of the best.

  48. My dithering over the issue made Brett Favre look like the model of decisiveness. But today’s as good a day as any.
    Late to the game, but anyone who can make a good dig at Favre is worthy of my well wishes.
    Best of luck to you!

  49. Damian,
    Congratulations on your new baby. Thanks for all the years you have been sharing your thoughts with us.
    Maybe when the Terrible Twos are behind you we will hear from you again on a regular basis.
    Godspeed to you and Best Wishes to your family.
    Martin from London Ontario

  50. Congratulations on your family’s good fortune and coming increase. Your blog’s insights into the politics of our neighbo(u)r to the north will be missed, and I – always hopeful – will say “So long and thank you” rather than “Goodbye”.

  51. Another thanks here! Your efforts have been greatly appreciated over the years. Congratulations on the pending expansion of your family!!!

  52. Best wishes for your family and career. It’s good to keep your priorities straight and not get stretched too thin. Don’t forget to lock the comments so the spammers don’t take over!

  53. I have been reading blogs for few years and yours was one of the first. It has been consistently reliable. Come back soon.
    Best wishes

Leave a Reply

