GET. A. RECEIPT.

This seems obvious, but you’d be amazed how many child- and spousal-support payors don’t bother:

I thought everyone was aware of this simple fact:  if you pay in cash, get a receipt in case questions ever arise later.

It doesn’t matter what you’re paying for.  Even if you’re loaning your mother $5,000 – get a receipt. If you’re paying your attorney in cash – get a receipt.  And now, for the most important one:  If you’re paying child support in cash – get a receipt.

Did you know that some people go to jail for not paying child support?  [Not so much in Canada, but support-enforcement authorities can garnish your wages and make your life miserable in many other ways. – DJP] Man, if I knew there was something I could end up in jail for not doing, I would always be sure to make make sure I have proof of doing it.  Whether or not there’s a court order in place, if you’re paying child support (or any sort of support, for that matter) in cash, get a receipt.

I hear so many stories that go like this:  “Well I was giving her cash for child support for the last 10 years, and now she filed this petition saying I didn’t give her anything and that I owe all this back support.”  And now it’s your word against hers.  C’mon, man!  Did you really ever think this scenario couldn’t happen to you?  Do you know how easy it is to get a receipt?  Did you know that it’s FREE to get a receipt?

So, let’s see.  Getting a receipt is:

  • Easy
  • Free
  • Protects you in case questions ever arise later

I think I made my point.

Leave a Reply

