Unrecommended legal strategies (II)

There’s an old (possibly apocryphal) American case where the Judge said, “The defendant says, ‘as God is my judge, I cannot pay this tax.’ He’s not. I am. You do.”  We could use someone like that presiding over the Via Rail bomb-plot case:

A terror suspect charged in an alleged plot to attack a Via Rail passenger train is having difficulty finding a lawyer who will try convincing a court to judge him against the Qur’an.

Chiheb Esseghaier appeared in a Toronto court via video link on Monday to discuss his attempts to find legal aid representation — a process which has so far been unsuccessful due to the specific and unusual demands he has made.

“I want that the lawyer help me to change the reference of my case from the laws used by humans to the laws of the holy book,” he told the court. “I cannot take a lawyer who is not able to fulfil my need.”

[…]

As the Crown prosecutor told the court the last potential lawyer offered to Esseghaier had been unable to represent him based on his demands, the Montreal man repeatedly asked to be allowed to comment.

“It’s not me I refuse the last lawyer,” an adamant Esseghaier said.

“He write on a piece of paper, he write and he sign that he is not able to convince the court to change the reference of my case from the Criminal Code to the holy Qur’an.

“He said to me I am not able to fulfil your need, so what I can do? I cannot accept him.”

Esseghaier’s comments on Monday echoed previous statements in which he’s said he doesn’t recognize the secular authority of the Criminal Code in judging him.

Leave a Reply

