Escape from East Germany

Via Reddit, an extraordinary video taken not long before the Berlin Wall came down (and more evidence, as if any were needed, that the Wall was meant to keep people in, not out).

A Redditor responds: “I grew up in Slovakia, just on the border with Austria (I can see Austria from my window). At that time it was the Iron Curtain, the most protected border in the country, with all-day armed patrols. Just getting close to the border could get you in serious troubles. Getting a permit to visit Austria was insanely hard…Some 30 years later I’m able to do my day-to-day shoping in Austria, crossing the border without any kind check, without any kind of passport, using the same currency….Blows my mind every time.”

Leave a Reply

